The University Council

The University Council is responsible for the development of the university and proposes measures to raise its profile and increase its performance and competitiveness. It supervises the management of the University Board, adopts the structural and development plan, the budget estimate, the general principles of resource allocation and the job description of professorships. It elects the President and the Chancellor together with the Senate.

The University Council consists of five external members and four internal members belonging to the HFT Stuttgart, appointed by the Minister of Science; the University Council is chaired by an external member. A selection committee draws up the list of candidates, which must be approved by the Senate and the Ministry of Science.

External members

Dr. Guido Bader (Vorsitzender)
Vorstandsmitglied der Stuttgarter Lebensversicherung a.G. und Stuttgarter Versicherung AG

Maria Dietz
Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats der GFT Technologies SE

Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Laukemper
Geschäftsführer Drees & Sommer Infra Consult und Entwicklungsmanagement GmbH

Walter Schoefer
Geschäftsführer Flughafen Stuttgart GmbH

Dipl.-Ing. Manuel Schupp (Stellvertretender Vorsitzender)
Geschäftsführer ORANGE BLU building solutions GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart

Internal members

Prof. Dr. Thomas Benz
Fakultät Bauingenieurwesen, Bauphysik und Wirtschaft

Annette Graf
Mitarbeiterin zentrale Verwaltung

Prof. Christine Kappei
Fakultät Architektur und Gestaltung

Prof. Dr. Nicola Wolpert  
Fakultät Vermessung, Informatik und Mathematik

The Senate

The Senate decides on matters of research, teaching, study and further education, unless they are assigned by law to another central body or the faculties. The Senate, together with the University Council, elects the President and the Chancellor. It also elects the Vice-Presidents, who in turn must be confirmed by the university council. The Senate decides on the establishment and alteration of courses of study, the determination of admission numbers, the study and examination regulations, and the regulations governing fees and use.

On the basis of elections, the Senate consists of four professors from Faculties A and C, six professors from Faculty B, four staff members and six students. By virtue of office the President, the Chancellor and the Equal Opportunity officer are members of the Senate. The Vice-Presidents have an advisory function.

President (Chairwoman)
Prof. Dr. Katja Rade

Dr. Doreen Kirmse

Equal Opportunities Officer
Prof. Dorothee Koch

Professors of the Faculty of Architecture and Design
Prof. Dr. Jan Cremers
Prof. Dr. Philipp Dechow
Prof. Andreas Kretzer
Prof. Peter Schlaier

Professors of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, Building Physics and Business Management
Prof. Dr. Georg Hauer
Prof. Dr. Joachim Hirschner
Prof. Dr. Patrick Müller
Prof. Dr. Axel Norkauer
Prof. Dr. Carola Vogt-Breyer
Prof. Dr. Berndt Zeitler

Professors of the Faculty of Geomatics, Computer Science and Mathematics
Prof. Dr. Harald Bauer
Prof. Dr. Marcus Deininger
Prof. Dr. Eberhard Gülch
Prof. Dr. Peter Heusch

Dr. Anja Ernst
Dr. Volker Fux
Nicole Wanner
Silke Fritz


Brodel, Ann-Kathrin
Häberle, Linus (bis 31.05.2023)
Mosca, Luca
Prahl, Stefanie
Rall, Felix (ab 01.06.)
Sahmurat, Abdullah
Sillmann, Raphael

Prof. Dr. Volker Coors, Prorektor
Prof. Dr. Lutz Gaspers, Prorektor
Prof. Dr. Elke Sohn, Prorektorin


The Board of Trustees

The board of trustees of the HFT Stuttgart includes well-known personalities from industry, administration, associations and the University of Stuttgart. The Board of Trustees supports the university in an advisory and supportive capacity in the accomplishment of its tasks. The term of office of honorary members is five years.

Prof. Dr. Volker Coors
Prorektor der HFT Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Jan Cremers
Dekan der HFT Stuttgart

Dr. Björn Demuth
Rechtsanwalt und Steuerberater CMS Hasche Siegle

Andreas Deuschle MdL
Landtagsfraktion CDU

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lutz Gaspers
Prorektor der HFT Stuttgart

Bernd Göhner
Vorstand Verein Freunde der HFT Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Peter Heusch
Dekan der HFT Stuttgart

Andreas Hölting
Direktor des Landesbetriebs Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg, Betriebsleitung

Michael Joukov-Schwelling MdL
Landtagsfraktion Bündnis 90/Die Grünen

Stephan Keinath
Mitglied des Vorstands Ed. Züblin AG

Dr. Doreen Kirmse
Kanzlerin der HFT Stuttgart

Dorothea Kliche-Behnke MdL

Dorethe Kneer
Verein Freunde der HFT Stuttgart e.V.

Jan Kohlmeyer
Leitung Stabsstelle Klimaschutz der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Philip Leistner
Fraunhofer Institut für Bauphysik, Stuttgart

Markus Müller
Präsident der Architektenkammer Baden-Württemberg

Prof. Dr. Katja Rade
Rektorin der HFT Stuttgart

Dr. Simone Rehm
Prorekorin Informationstechnologie (CIO) der Universität Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Elke Sohn
Prorektorin der HFT Stuttgart

Albrecht Stäbler
Beratender Ingenieur, Ingenieurbüro Albrecht Stäbler

Prof. Dr. Carola Vogt-Breyer
Dekanin der HFT Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Joachim Weber
Rektor der DHBW Stuttgart

Dieter Ziesel
Präsident Landesamt für Geoinformation und Landesentwicklung Baden-Württemberg

The Faculty Councils

The faculty is the basic organisational unit of the university. Matters of teaching and studies are decided in the faculty councils. These include, for example, the structural and developmental planning of the faculty, the formation, modification and abolition of faculty institutions, the faculty's study and examination regulations and appointment proposals.

The faculty councils are composed of all professors of the respective faculty by virtue of office, four employees and six students by virtue of elections.

The constituted student body

The Verfasste Studierendenschaft (VS) is the representative body of the students at the HFT Stuttgart. Information on student committees and interest groups can be found here.